No image

The South African Rugby Legends Association (SARLA) return to the Drakensberg town of Winterton on the 15th September 2018 for another legendary rugby match against the Drakensberg Rugby Club Legends Team.

Bringing together former legendary players for a lively afternoon of fun and friendship annually, the very first match between the Natal Legends and the Drakensberg Legends took place over 15 years ago in 2002. Following a break, the match was rekindled in 2014 and has been both well-attended and supported since, in addition to being an important fundraiser for the local club.

2018 promises to be an exhilarating game considering distinguished coach Ian McIntosh’s team selection. McIntosh, who will be celebrating his 80th birthday on 24th September, has selected former Springbok Lock and 2007 Rugby World Cup winner, Albert van den Berg, former Springbok and Sharks scrumhalf Hentie Martens, former Cheetahs captain and Sharks lock Nico Breedt, along with former Sharks Neil Cole, Dusty Noble, Skipper Badenhorst, Wayne Munn, Robbie Harris, Wesley Bodmer and Dieter Kriese. Joining the team from up north are former 7s and Lions forwards Jonathan Mokuena, Marc Watson and former Italian Captain, Quintin Geldenhuys.

The action kicks off at 3pm at the Winterton Country Club grounds of the Drakensberg Rugby Club. Prior to the start of the big game, the legends will be giving back once again by conducting a rugby clinic for young players from the surrounding areas.

SARLA CEO, Stefan Terblanche, shared that “All legends participating in the Drakensberg game are really looking forward to the weekend’s events, it’s a great opportunity to spend valuable time together and past matches have always proved extremely rewarding.” Terblanche went on to thank the legends, saying that “SARLA is always grateful for their time, energy and of course, for their amazing commitment to giving back by passing on their valuable knowledge to the next generation of rugby talent.”


Forwards: 12

Abonga Nkwelo
Albert van den Berg
Dieter Kriese
Jacques Deen
Jacques Muller
Jacques Roux
Jason Wesson
Jonathan Mokuena
Nico Breedt
Quintin Geldenhuys
Robbie Harris
Skipper Badenhorst

Backs: 11

Dusty Noble
Erik Aissing
Helmar Breytenbach
Hentie Martens
Marc Watson
Neil Cole
Reinhard Gerber
Sacha Marot
Sam Gerber
Wayne Munn
Wesley Bodmer